Joint Seminar - Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering, IEEE Photonics Society (Hong Kong Chapter)
Integrated photonics at the micro- and nano-scale

by Prof. Joyce Poon
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Toronto
Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering,  Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

 :  26 Feb 2014 (Wed)
 :  4:00pm - 5:00pm
Venue  :  Rm 5505, 5/F (Lift 25, 26), Academic Complex, HKUST


The convergence of computing and communications opens significant opportunities for integrated photonics.  The availability of advanced nanofabrication processes at the wafer-scale in silicon photonic foundries enables the realization of complex photonic circuits.  However, the challenges of energy efficient and high-speed modulators, polarization management, variation tolerance, and ultra-compact active devices remain open.  In this talk, I will present my group’s recent progress in addressing these issues using silicon and hybrid-silicon platforms.  I will describe results on silicon microring filters and modulators, polarization rotator-splitters and controllers, a custom silicon nitride on silicon platform, and vanadium dioxide nano-electronic and -photonic devices.


Joyce Poon is an Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at University of Toronto, where she holds the Canada Research Chair in Integrated Photonic Devices.  She is also presently a Visiting Associate Professor of Electronic and Computer Engineering at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.  She and her team conduct theoretical and experimental research in micro- and nano-scale integrated photonics. 

Dr. Poon obtained the Ph.D. and M.S. in Electrical Engineering from Caltech in 2007 and 2003 respectively, and the B.A.Sc. in Engineering Science (physics option) from the University of Toronto in 2002. She is the recipient of a McCharles Prize for Early Research Career Distinction, a MIT TR35 award in 2012, IBM Faculty Award in 2010 and 2011, Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation Early Researcher Award in 2009, NSERC University Faculty Award in 2008, and the Clauser Doctoral Thesis Prize from Caltech in 2007.