The Molecular Future of Digital Singal Processing

by Sotirios A. Tsaftaris, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Northwestern University

 :  01 Sep 2005 (Thu)
 :  11:00am - 1:00pm
Venue  :  Room 2404, 2/F (Lift 17-18), HKUST

A review of early efforts in non-electronic DSP, such as protein based image storage, cellular re-engineering for signal processing, bacterial signal processing and DNA based DSP, will be provided. We will emphasize on DNA based storage solutions for digital signals where DNA molecules are used to store digital signals. Codeword design algorithms and database design and management methods will be discussed.

Sotirios Tsaftaris was born in Thessaloniki, Greece in 1978. He is with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Northwestern University in Evanston, IL, working towards his PhD degree. He received the MSc degree in ECE from Northwestern University in June 2003. He received the diploma of electrical and computer engineering from the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in 2000. At Northwestern, he is with the Image and Video Processing Laboratory (IVPL) working on bio-molecular computing applications and bioinformatics. He has held research and teaching assistantship positions and was the recipient of the Murphy Fellowship (2001-2002). His work is also funded by the Alexander S. Onassis post-graduate fellowship (2001-present) from the Alexander S. Onassis Public Benefit Foundation. Before Northwestern, he held a research position in the Informatics and Telematics Institute (Greece) working on copyright management of digital media. He has published more than 10 articles in the areas of DNA based Digital Signal Processing and digital watermarking. His research interests include biomolecular computing and bioinformatics, microarray image compression, digital media rights, and image and video processing. He is the technical chair of NU Nanoalliance. He is a member of the ISNSCE (International Society for Nanoscale Science, Computation and Engineering), IEEE and the Technical Chamber of Greece.


*** All are Welcome ***