Joint Seiminar - Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering, IEEE Photonics Society (Hong Kong Chapter)
Silicon Photonics without Compromise:
Linear, Nonlinear and Quantum Applications

by Prof. Shayan Mookherjea, Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of California, San Diego

 :  18 Dec 2012 (Tue)
 :  11:30 - 12:30pm
Venue  :  Rm 2503, 2/F (Lift 25, 26), Academic Complex, HKUST

Silicon is the material-of-choice for industrial chip manufacturability, but conventional wisdom holds that silicon photonics sacrifices some performance in exchange for low-cost, large-volume manufacturing, compared to other more artisanal approaches (III-V, glass-based, etc.) of integrated optics.

The key insight of our work is that the disorder-sensitivity of silicon micro-resonators can be overcome such that silicon photonics has actually raised the performance record in some types of components:

i)    After a decade of research, coupled-resonator optical waveguides (CROWs) consisting of hundreds of ring resonators have been demonstrated, and used to show high-performance optical /add-drop filters that decouple on-off contrast (>60 dB) from passband width-to-FSR ratio (>50%).

ii)    A high four-wave mixing nonlinearity (5 orders of magnitude larger than highly nonlinear fiber HNLF), was used to demonstrate wide-band slow-light enhanced low-power wavelength conversion, 50x more efficient that conventional silicon nanophotonic waveguides.

iii)   Silicon is a poor classical light source, but it can be an excellent source of quantum light.  We have demonstrated the first heralded single-photon source from silicon using a micro-resonator based device, at room temperature.
Shayan Mookherjea is Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering at the University of California, San Diego.  He received the BS degree with honors from Caltech (1999), the SM degree from MIT (2000) and the PhD from Caltech (2003) in Electrical Engineering with a minor in Physics, and received the Charles Wilts thesis prize.  He has been appointed Hellman Faculty Fellow at UCSD, received the NSF CAREER award, URSI Young Scientist Award, is an elected member of the IEEE EDS AdCom, Senior Member of IEEE and Fellow of the OSA.