Student Competitions

2011 Robocon Hong Kong Contest and ABU Asia-Pacific Robot Contest

The HKUST Robocon Team won Championship in the Robocon 2011 Hong Kong Contest held in Cyberport on 26 June 2011. They represented Hong Kong to compete in the ABU Asia-Pacific Robot Contest in Bangkok on 28 August 2011, and out of 18 teams from the Asia-Pacific region, they won the Best Idea Award and Mabuchi Motor Award. The Best Idea Award was given to the team that provided an excellent solution of robot manipulation, while the Mabuchi Motor Award was selected by the sponsor, Mabuchi Motor Company, generally based on the technical design.

In the Hong Kong Contest, the champion team "Fiery Dragon" is the only team among the eight which was able to complete all the required tasks in a game and gain full marks. Commentators attributed its outstanding performance to the robots’ remarkable speed and stable movement in performing the tasks. Students who operated the robots on the game field were also very calm and could achieve full control of the robots.
An inter-institutional contest for higher education students, the Robocon Hong Kong Contest encourages the design and construction of robots which must then complete a set of tasks. The contest was organized by Radio Television Hong Kong and co-organized by Hong Kong Computer Society, The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers and Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU).

This year, eight teams from six higher education institutions participated in the Hong Kong Contest. The team “Fiery Dragon”, which was one of the two teams representing HKUST, received the Champion Award. The other HKUST team, "Candela", also performed very well.
The HKUST Robocon Team, consisting of 45 students from 6 engineering departments, is a sub-team of the HKUST Robotics Team and is supervised by Prof. Zexiang Li and Prof. Tim Woo of the ECE Department. 19 ECE and 11 CPEG students are core members of the Robocon Team.
Members of Robocon Team "Fiery Dragon":
Chan  Hoi  Lam (CPEG)
Che Feng Yu (ECE)
Fung Kam Hung (ECE)
Huang Jihua (CPEG)
Huang Ye (CPEG)
Lau Yiu Wing
Li Dingzeyu (CPEG)
Lian Yuwen (ECE)
Lu Xietong (ECE)
Luo Sihua
Luo Yanjin (ECE)
Ng Hing Yik
Pang Cho Wing
Song Shuran (ECE)
Tao Shizheng
Tsui  Ka  Yui, Ronnie
Wen Haoran
Yang Shuo (CPEG)
Zhang Yichi (ECE)
Zhang Yusi (CPEG)
Zhou Zi
Members of Robocon Team "Candela":
Ajani Nishaad Chetan (CPEG)
Cai Hong (ECE)
Chen Ximing (ECE)
Chiu Cheuk Yin (ECE)
He Naien
Ho Lung Tak (CPEG)
Kong Yuet Yee (CPEG)
Kwok Lai Ying
Lee Wa Chi, Elvis
Li Han (ECE)
Liu Mengwei (ECE)
Lu Yongxi (ECE)
Ma Chi Kit
Ma Fangchang (ECE)
Mak Wing Kin
Mang King Fung (ECE)
Ngai Yu Hon (ECE)
Tang Wang Hin
Tsang Fung Yu
Tu Jia (CPEG)
Wang Mingxi
Wang Siqi (CPEG)
Ye Jiaxin (ECE)
Yu Fei (ECE)
Yu Jiqiu (ECE)
Please click here for the School of Engineering Press Release on the Robocon 2011 Hong Kong Contest.