Optical/Photonic Interconnects for Computing Systems


In Conjunction with Design, Automation & Test in Europe Conference
23rd March 2018, Dresden, Germany

Multiprocessor System-on-Chip (MPSoC) is becoming the standard for high-performance computing systems. The performance of an MPSoC is determined not only by the performance of its processing cores and memories, but also by how efficiently they collaborate with one another. As the technology advances and allows the integration of many processing cores, metallic interconnects in MPSoCs will consume significant power while imposing high latency and low bandwidth. Shifting to the many-core era necessitates considering an alternative interconnect technology to replace the traditional electrical interconnects. Among such technologies, photonic technology has demonstrated promising potentials to address the aforementioned issues with the metallic interconnects in MPSoCs. In this context, high-performance silicon photonic devices and circuits are necessary to construct photonic interconnect networks. Furthermore, it is required to explore the feasibility and performance of photonic interconnects as well as the guidelines and design requirements to realize such interconnects. OPTICS aims at discussing the most recent advances in photonic interconnects and silicon photonics for computing systems. Industry’s and academia’s views on the feasibility and recent progress of optical interconnects and silicon photonics will be discussed. The workshop is comprised of invited talks of the highest caliber in addition to refereed poster presentations.


08:30 Introduction to OPTICS Workshop
Jiang Xu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Session I: Technological Advances
Chair: Sébastien Le Beux, Lyon Institute of Nanotechnology

08:40 KEYNOTE: Silicon Photonics Technology for Advanced Computing Applications
Bert Jan Offrein, IBM Zurich Research Lab.

09:10 Silicon Photonics: towards Heterogeneous and Multi-layer Integration for Very High Density Circuits
Christophe Kopp, CEA LETI

09:30 Monolithic III-V Quantum-dot Lasers for Silicon Photonics
Siming Chen, University College London

09:50 Towards Low Power Electro-Optics Modulators
Laurent Vivien, CNRS

10:15 Coffee Break and Posters

Session II: Silicon Photonics in High Performance Computing
Chair: Mahdi Nikdast, Colorado State University

11:00 The IIT Delhi Photonics Stack
Smruti R. Sarangi, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi

11:20 Electro-Photonic NoC Designs for Kilocore Systems
José Abellán, Universidad Católica de Murcia

11:40 Fault-Resilient Photonic on-Chip Network for Reliable High-Throughput Manycore Systems
Ben Abdallah Abderazek, University of Aizu

12:00 Lunch Break

Session III: Silicon Photonics Design Automation
Chair: Jiang Xu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

13:00 KEYNOTE: Enabling Photonic IC Design
Pieter Dumon, Luceda Photonics

13:30 EDA for ONoCs: Achievements, Challenges, and Opportunities
Ulf Schlichtmann, Technical University of Munich

13:50 Interfacing 3D-stacked Electronic and Optical NoCs with Mixed CMOS-ECL Bridges: a Realistic Preliminary Assessment
Davide Bertozzi, University of Ferrara

14:10 Offline optimization of wavelength allocation and laser to deal with Energy-Performance tradeoffs in nanophotonic interconnects
Cedric Killian, IRISA

14:30 Coffee Break and Posters

Session IV: Design Requirements, Challenges, and Applications
Chair: Jiang Xu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

15:00 Optical Test Chip and Characterization Challenges to Address Reliability and PAM4 Topics
Jean-Francois Carpentier, STMicroelectronics

15:20 Thermally-Tuned Photonic Links towards Full Electro-Optical Computing
Yvain Thonnart, CEA LETI, MINATEC

15:40 Crosstalk in Petabyte/s Interconnection
Alan Mickelson, University of Colorado Boulder

16:00 Photonics in Computing: Use "More Than a Link" for Getting "More Than Moore
Nikos Pleros, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

16:20 A Light Speed Integrated Optical Parallel Multiplier Exploiting Approximate Binary Logarithms with Deterministic Errors
Jun Shiomi, Kyoto University

16:45 Panel Discussion on Silicon Photonics

17:25 Concluding Remarks and Closing Session
Sébastien Le Beux, Lyon Institute of Nanotechnology

19:00 OPTICS Networking Event (Dinner)

General Chairs

Jiang Xu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Sébastien Le Beux, Lyon Institute of Nanotechnology
Gabriela Nicolescu, Polytechnique Montréal

Program Chair

Mahdi Nikdast, Colorado State University

Technical Program Committee

Alan Mickelson, University of Colorado Boulder, USA
Ayse Coskun, Boston University, USA
Davide Bertozzi, University of Ferrara, Italy
Edoardo Fusella, University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Ian O'Connor, Lyon Institute of Nanotechnology, France
Laurent Vivien, CNRS, France
Nikos Hardavellas, Northwestern University, USA
Olivier Sentieys, INRIA - University of Rennes 1, France
Sandro Bartolini, Università di Siena, Italy
Sebastien Rumley, University of Columbia, USA
Tohru Ishihara, Kyoto University, Japan
Yaoyao Ye, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Yoan Léger, CNRS – FOTON, France