Professional Honors and Distinctions

Elected Member, IEEE Publication Services and Products Board (IEEE wide), 2012-14
Treasurer, IEEE Communications Society (about 50,000 members), 2012-13
Vice-President of IEEE Communications Society, 2010-11, through worldwide voting of all members
Recipient, 2010 Outstanding Electrical and Computer Engineer Award, Purdue University, USA
Founding Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications - Ranked # 3 among all IEEE publications (Journals and Magazines) in 2007 in terms of number of downloads on IEEE Xplore®
Winner of the prestigious 2009 IEEE Marconi Prize Award in Wireless Communications
Recipient of the 2007 IEEE Communications Society Publications Exemplary Award (Worldwide award with a maximum of one recipient/year)
Promoted to IEEE Fellow, 2003 (The highest honor bestowed in IEEE)
Founding Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications
ISI Highly Cited Researcher (Thomson Reuters) since November 2010
IEEE Distinguished Lecturer, 2004-2008 and 2011-2013
Plenary Speaker at the 2008 United States National Science Foundation/North American Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Heads Association Globalization Workshop
Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Journal Selected Areas in Communications - Wireless Series
Technical Program Chair, 2008 IEEE International Conference on Communications, the premier and flagship IEEE conference in telecommunications (> 3000 paper submissions)
General Chair, 2007 IEEE Wireless Communications and Networking Conference, the premier IEEE conference wireless communications (> 1500 paper submissions)
Promoted to Senior Member of IEEE, 1997
URSI Young Scientist Award, Paris, September 1992
David Ross Fellowship at Purdue University, 1986-1988
US AID Fellowship, 1981-1990